EXPLORE MORE OF
St. Oswald’s Priory
The standing remains incorporate part of the north wall of a minster church built in around 900AD by Aethelflaed, the Lady of the Mercians.
Introduction to St. Oswald’s Priory
A brief Backstory
In 900 AD Aethelflaed created a shrine here to St. Oswald by moving his relics from Bardney in Lincolnshire. Aethelflaed and her husband Aethelred were both later buried here.
In 1152 the church was re-founded as a priory of Augustinian canons when a cloister, tower and other ranges were added. Following its Dissolution in 1537, part of the site was converted into a parish church, dedicated to St. Catherine.
The priory buildings suffered damage during the Civil War siege of Gloucester in 1643.
EXPLORE ST. OSWALD’S PRIORY VIRTUAL CONTENT
Take an online tour below!
Sign up for the latest news & event updates.